Sick Day Couch Rental #2: CONVICTED

8 Mar

For some reason all I felt like watching today was a prison film. Maybe I’ve been cooped up indoors too long. Although, I have to say I have always had a bit of a soft spot for them. Whether it be the raw and chilling ‘R‘ (you must watch this) or the awesome at every re-watch (and there have been many) ‘Primal Fear’. I guess something about the metal bars and orange pajamas’s just makes me feel all warm and fuzzy.

Convicted a.k.a Return to Sender is one I’d never heard of before. But the DVD cover looked just tacky enough that I thought I’d give it a go. Turned out to be a surprising mix of ‘Dead Man Walking’ and the Bruce Willis, Julia Roberts film within a film in ‘The Player’. It centres around a washed up Texan attorney who now makes his living writing letters to prisoners on death row and then sells their final letter to the press. He begins writing to the woman at the centre of a highly publicized murder trail, who’s final letter is set to be his most profitable yet. But the trouble is- of course- he falls in love with her and begins to believe that she may be innocent. Also included an almost gravity defying sex scene through the prison bars which I didn’t see coming.

I’m not sure you’d call it a good movie, but I definitely enjoyed it.

One Response to “Sick Day Couch Rental #2: CONVICTED”

  1. curlylisa March 8, 2012 at 6:07 pm #

    Love this Anna, and now I totally want to rent out this film just to see the scene.

Leave a Reply

