JITTERS (Órói)

22 Mar

I saw the Icelandic film ‘Jitters’ at the MQFF last night. I’ve had a big week in the countdown to my own small music video shoot. Waking up in the middle of the night to scribble to do lists, driving around Melbourne for hours to find the smallest prop. I finally finished shooting in the early hours of yesterday morning and by night time I was basically the walking dead.

This film fit perfectly for my mood, you could just slide right into it and forget yourself. Focusing on a close-knit group of friends and their coming of age issues, the film is led by Gabriel who kisses his room mate, Markús, on a study trip and isn’t sure how to feel about it. The film has been accused of being too episodic, more like a TV series than a film, but I found it’s narrative structure to be completely engaging. I never doubted the characters, nor did I even think about the great performances or character mapping. They just felt totally honest and real.

The only problem with this film is a tragic event that turns the film to it’s third act. The event is so awful it feels out of place in this film and all the characters seem to massively under-react.

Apart from that though, I loved this film. It was tender and earnest and didn’t patronise teenagers like a lot of films in this genre do. The friends were each others whole lives and the care they felt for one another ran deep. The relationship between Gabriel and Markús was beautifully executed and their chemistry was arresting.

This is Baldvin Zophoniasson’s first feature, I can’t wait to see what his next venture will hold.

Leave a Reply

